1977 Chrysler 90 HP just purchased

Switzer1983

Recruit
I just recently purchased what I believe to be a 1977 Chrysler 90HP, the reason I believe this is after pulling the hood off I am able to see a tag that say 907HC am i correct in thinking this is a 1977 90HP 3 cylinder with 3 tiltson carbs? I am very new to boating and outboards. I am however mechanically inclined i like to think. I purchased the boat, Trailer and motor from the guy(in need of money) for 150 bucks with titles in hand. Told me the motor ran last year. It has sat over the winter and now today was the 1st day of 45-50 degree weather I want to see if this thing runs. I am building a outboard stand for it tommrow. I will then pull the engine, and cables. Before I hook this thing to a battery and start cranking what preperations should I do before hand? I have a compression tester but not sure what type of compression i should be getting or how i go about doing it..Any help would be great guys! Thanks....

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1977 Chrysler 90 HP just purchased

90 indicates 90 HP, the 7 indicates how it was equipped and the HC indicates year--unfortunately, I don't have my charts handy so I can't tell you. Does it have a distributor? Is there one wire attached on the side of the distributor or two wires. Brand new, compression was around 145-155 PSI. Anything over 120 and you are doing well. Less than 60 indicates problems. Bore 3.3125 inch, Stroke 2,80. Displacement 72 cubic inches. Three Tillotsen carbs, 1 5/16 diameter venturis, 2 to 1 gear ratio in the lower unit. Everything from almost any Chrysler 3 cylinder engine is swappable into it. Depending upon size of hull, 13 X 17 or 13 X 19 prop. If it is indeed from the 70s, props are not available new and getting rarer used. Repair parts for the engine itself are still available if you take the time to look.