Transom repair questions please help

jonboatcatfish

Recruit
Ok I bought my first boat a 1978 waco 14 foot flat bottom
Jon boat the wood in the transom is old and rotted and I'm
going to make a new one it has two knee braces (rated for20hp)
I'm planing on chisling the old rivets out because I can't put the
new transom in with them in the way. Ok here are my qustions

what kind of rivets shud I use (steel, almn?)

what kind of epoxi do I use to seal it

What kind of bolts do I use on the knee braces that go through
the transom (steel,brass?)

marin plywood cost to much for me I only paid 40$ for the boat
so what's the second best wood to use ?

Thanks for any responses Im new to boating and this fourm
and I have know idea where to start on this rebuild
Robert

oops!

Supreme Mariner
Re: Transom repair questions please help

hi welcome to i boats !

most of your questions are covered in the completed projects forum.....

you can use exterior grade plywood...

polyester resin and fiberglass matt is far cheaper than the epoxy.

and as far as the rivits go we need to see pics before making that judgment....however, rule of thumb is to replace what was there.

jonboatcatfish

Recruit

Thanks for replying so quick, it will try to have pics up tomrrow
what kind of resin like the bondo brand stuff? I work at pepboys
autoparts and we have some bond products

oops!

Supreme Mariner

we use boat resin.......but thats just a small job...so the bondo, or any dept store resin will work fine.

just remember....that stuff is all waxed resin...that means you cant do multliple layers of glass after its cured with out sanding.

but for your job you will just need to put 2 layers of the chopped strand matt at once.

tuort

Cadet

Ok I bought my first boat a 1978 waco 14 foot flat bottom
Jon boat the wood in the transom is old and rotted and I'm
going to make a new one it has two knee braces (rated for20hp)
I'm planing on chisling the old rivets out because I can't put the