15 HP Johnson Prop Question

eliw3

Recruit
Please Help!

I have a 1982 15HP Johnson that I need to replace the prop on. The prop is slipping. I've been to the local "prop shop" and it's going to be $40 to fix it. I can buy a new one on iboats for $60 including shipping. I figured I would go ahead and spend the money for a new one. The old one is 9 1/2" diameter and 10" pitch. The only thing listed on iboats is a 9 1/4" diameter. How much, if any is this 1/4" diameter difference going to effect my performance? I use the boat less than 12 times a year. Mostly duck hunting. I fish with it as well, but use my trolling motor only. Also, can anyone reccomend what size pitch I should be using. I've been told by a "buddy" that I should go down in pitch, because I'm usually pushing a lot of weight. Usually 2 men around 225lbs each and an additional 100-125lbs of weight. The old prop seemed to work ok. This is my first boat, so I'm new to all of this. Please help.

Thanks!

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: 15 HP Johnson Prop Question

Welcome,Prop diameter typically follows the design,only considered in certain specific conditions.If the prop is intended for your motor it will work fine.
Original equipment was a 10" pitch.Its difficult to suggest any size change without a tach reading,And a tach and gps is nice to have. If you want to really fine tune things a tiny tach is reasonable and easy to install.Could improve performance and economy though a little motor doesn't use that much anyway.If the motor seems to get up promptly and planes I would stick with the stock prop.Problem with going to less pitch is the possibility of over reving especially with a light load.
With a tach you can adjust your speed accordingly.The 15 is free reving 5,500-7,000 rpm.

elkhunter338

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: 15 HP Johnson Prop Question

I posted this info below for another guy a few months ago, this might help.