Old outboard safety concerns - are there any?

JasonAych

Petty Officer 1st Class
I am fairly new to older outboards (30's 40's 50's 60's). However, I now have the ones mentioned in my signature.

My 1st concern, and it applies to all of them is no kill switch. If something happens the boat is just going to keep going until either the engine runs out of gas or it hits something. I was trying to figure out how to hook up a modern tether switch. I have some ideas but was hoping someone else already did it and can help me out with this.

My 2nd is with the 2 53 Sea Kings and the 1939 Elto. The 39 is more of a novelty and I don?t really plan on doing anything other than maybe taking it to a show/meet once in a while and maybe running it to show it off. Anyway, with the 3 of these, the fuel in the carb bowl is somewhat exposed. In fact if you ?prime? them, fuel comes out the top (as designed). Also, the carb venturi (air horn) on the 53 Sea King is wide open. I was trying to think of a way to make an air silencer or flame arrestor for the carb. I was also starting to think of a way to trim the needle valve stem and seal off the bowl but I would be concerned with causing a vacuum lock and would need some sort of guide for the stem inside the bowl. Any ideas on either of these?

On the plus side, all the fittings and fuel lines are metal and compression fitted. So chances are any fires would be limited to the carburetor area and somewhat easy to extinguish if acted on quickly.

Am I right to be concerned or are these issues really unheard of with these older motors?

rjezuit

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Old outboard safety concerns - are there any?