Transom problem?...help and advice much needed

russellt

Recruit
Hi All, I new to this forum and live in Brisbane Australia. I have read through some of the posts on here and the information available is great and so far has helped me out heaps.
I am hopfull that I can get some similar help/advice with some issues which have come up with my boat restoration experiences so far.

I am also new to the boating world and have recently bought a 16ft half cabin fishing boat (Sunchaser 4.9..think it is a local Australian company. Year of hull is around the 1991 vintage I think)
I bought the boat from an ex boat builder, and being relatively green had sought some advice on what to look for when buying...I was advised that the main areas to check are the floor and transom. The floor has no spring and from what I can tell is sound (carpeted though so not visually checked it) and the transom also appeared to be OK...I spoke with the guy I was buying the boat from who told me that the transom and floor were OK (as I guess he would)..I rocked the motor on the transom and there was no movement/flex so believed (and still do!!?) that the it is strucurally sound (the guy also had another boat there which had a rotten transom...he showed me this and I rocked the motor on that too for a comparison...BIG difference, which made me feel confident that the boat I was buying was OK).

I decided that I wanted to give the 1988 Johnson 70hp outboard motor a makeover as there was a fair bit of corrosion around the steering arm and tilt ram..so I have removed the engine from the boat and am in the process of a full strip down and then will restore the parts.