Kicker Motor .... Good Idea?

MokiCruiser

Seaman Apprentice
Let me start by saying that I am brand new to boating. I bought a 32 year old 20' Sea Ray cuddy last year and only had it in water once (and that was when I took it out to change trailers), that was my first boating lesson ..... look at the condition of the trailer.....

I live in Oregon so most boats get put to bed around here during the winter. My intent was to use this boat to fish the ocean. I am no fool and so only intend to take it out in the ocean when weather/wind/waves are favorable, the rest of the use will be bays, rivers and lakes when conditions make the ocean experience a bit more hazardous. The boat has a 302 ford with a Mercruiser out drive, and when I took it out that one time last year I found that it would get just a bit above 40 mph at full throttle. As I've said I am new to boating, and to me it just makes sense to have a back up motor, especially if I intend to go 10, 20 miles or more off shore after tuna or halibut. I have been reading everything I can find concerning the ability of a kicker to push a boat of my size about, and all I can find is conflicting information. Some seem to think it's a waste of time because a kicker won't do much in unfavorable conditions and recommend buying a SeaTow membership (there is no such thing at the central Oregon Coast), others say it is a good idea to have a back up kicker motor ...... but then the discussion seems to move on to kicker motor size.