Winterizing water inlet hose

boatingedge

Seaman Apprentice
Hey guys,
I have a 1996 Maxum 7.4L Mercruiser Bravo 3 that I am keeping in the water year round. As this is my first year with this boat and first time ever keeping a boat in the the water, I am concerned about the water inlet hose freezing and potentially start to leak. I have already winterized the rest of the boat and engine and also have a bilge heater so I am ok for now. But I don't want to take the chance of the electricty going out and thus freeze the inlet line.

The mercruiser manual says that it must be disconnected and plugged to prevent water from flowing back into the cooling system. My question is how do you plug the hose? Once I disconnect it from the water pump water flows in. I assume I can lift the hose up to stop the flow of water, but obviously if it were to fall while sitting at the dock, the water would start gushing in. Is there some sort of cap that can go over the inlet hose that will seal it for the winter?
Thanks

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner
Re: Winterizing water inlet hose

you could cap it but it would still contain water that could burst the hose. Does it have a sea-**** to shut off? Safest method is to pull the boat for the winter .

boatingedge

Seaman Apprentice

Unfortunatly no seacock. The hose goes from the water pump straight to the Y-pipe (I think thats what its called.)

Gary H NC

Fleet Admiral

Ace hardware and Napa carry rubber plugs you could cap the hose with.
As far as the rubber freezing and cracking it should expand instead.
The main concern is the engine is drained...
These nights in the teens around here will sure crack a block if the power fails or the heater quits..;)

boatingedge

Seaman Apprentice