Bayliner Newbe.....tons of questions....

triplehooked

Seaman Apprentice
First off, I would like to say that I am ready to take the bashing for making this purchase with out the proper checks. I am completely new to boating and although I was a certified auto mechanic, I have never worked on boats. I traded an old truck of mine for a 91 Bayliner Capri with a 3.0. The engine was rebuilt last winter "with receipts" and the boat is excellent cosmetically. Two tubes, skis, 10 life jackets, two props, brand new batt this fall, anti-mussell coating, two covers, and a bimini top. It has one small tear at the seam on the driver's seat, that's it. First off, the title says it's a 1650, but it's a 19' boat.....#'s match the title...typo maybe? Second, I know it's a 3.0 but do not know where to look for #'s for future parts. I found two #'s on the top of the eng. 2215 and 720. No stickers on the eng. Next, I'm not sure what out drive this has. It says force on the stern above the out drive. I checked the oil in the drive and it is perfect, no water or metal, so I didn't change it. The prev. owners stated that it has always been stored inside and the eng. was fogged, but not flushed. This is what makes me nervous....... I removed four drain plugs in the manifold and it is bone dry, not a single ice chip. I know this is an all too common question here.....I have done all of the other winterizing thngs on the list...ie removed battery, lubed linkages, removed prop, stabil in the gas, etc........ should it be brought in just to make certain it has no water in the eng.? The owner said this model drains completely when out of the water and it is not needed?!? I don't know, honestly. I didn't even know that these engs. need oil mixed?!? Is that common with all inboards or just this model? Any thread suggestions for me to read would be great. My next purchase is a service manual for this, any suggestions? Sorry to run on, my wife wanted a runabout....I think it will be fun, but I gue