T-stat housing on 5.0 200 HP mercruiser

83vert

Petty Officer 1st Class
When I got the boat two weeks ago the p/o said the boat caught on fire. I got the boat home and started it up and the only thing that started burning was the exhaust couplers. If the balls in the housing(see pics) were rusted shut would that be the problem. can I remove these and should the housing be replaced at this time. Im new to the boating thing so bare with me.
013-5.jpg

those outlets with the balls go to the risers
014-5.jpg

015-5.jpg

010-3.jpg

Obviously salt water cooled. thanks guys

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: T-stat housing on 5.0 200 HP mercruiser

Depending on how the cooling system was hooked up, YES, the check balls being stuck cloesed could cause the problem.
Can you get a better pic of the hoses and how they were hooked to the Tstat housing?

PS. You also have a PM

83vert

Petty Officer 1st Class

I dont have any better pics but I think one to the water pump, one to the outdrive, two to the bottom of riser and two to the side of riser.

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,.... Zero water flow causes the exhaust to catch fire....

Those check-balls have to be working in order to prevent overheating at idle...

I'd dose that housing in CLR before I threw it away,... Ya can't see what ya got, til ya Clean it....

What's the Impeller look like,..??

83vert

Petty Officer 1st Class

I did not get to the impeller yet but that is next. CLR will clean that up? I have to get some but I do not think anything is cracked, its just showing its age.

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,... The Impeller is ALWAYS the 1st place to look in an overheat condition,.... Always...

You're not concerned about Cracks,... It's the loss of base metal to Rust...

The "R" in CLR is Rust... it's a mild acid that attacks Calcium, Lime,+ Rust...
Rince with water when it quits bubblin'.....

83vert

Petty Officer 1st Class