1988 15HP Johnson...

Airdale

Recruit
Hey guys, looking for some information about this motor. I'm trying to figure out what the black knob is to the right of the choke lever. Looks like either an idle or mixture knob.

My brother just recently bought this motor from a friend of mine, who bought it from a guy who rebuilds and restores outboards. It has excellent compression, all new ignition system and rebuilt carb. My buddy never used the motor, he just had it in the garage as a spare, so he had no idea what the black knob was for.

Well this morning my brother was going hunting and started the motor at the ramp. It started in 2 pulls, but then it quit running. He ended up having my Dad tow him out to a spot, but he still can't get it to restart. I'm not there to troubleshoot, but what I'm looking for is a starting procedure with this motor.

I was an outboard technician in the Coast Guard on the larger Johnson and Honda motors and I've rebuilt several smaller mercury engines. I've never worked on anything this old, so I really don't know what position that black knob is supposed to be in, but I can tell you from the time I test ran it, that the position of that black knob is the difference between the engine running and the engine not.

Thanks

bktheking

Vice Admiral
Re: 1988 15HP Johnson...

That knob adjusts the idle mixture. Pump fuel bulb till hard, set throttle to the start position, pull the choke out and pull it over. Once it is warmed up enough to run push the choke lever in. Idle adjustment should be done in the water, if it's too lean or rich you will hear it, it won't run well.

wbeaton

Commander

Airdale; I can tell you from the time I test ran it said:
Actually, that knob has no bearing on starting or running above idle. That is your low speed jet and it only affects low speed running. Factory setting for the jet is 1-1.5 turns out from gently seated. Tweak as necessary once the motor is up to normal operating temperature.