Should I use body filler on Gunnels?

SoonerD

Cadet
I'm in the process of doing all the prep work getting ready to paint my 18' aluminum boat. There are some small "dimples" on the gunnel and cannot get under the gunnels to pop them out. That said, I know that auto body shops use body filler (putty) and thought that I might be able to use the filler, then sand and prime. I would appreciate any input or suggestions based on your experiences.

Thanks!

thrillhouse700

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Should I use body filler on Gunnels?

I have no experience with alum boats but if they were small and not tooo deep I don't see why not. What kind of paint are you using? If its a marine paint then contact them and see what they say. I know interlux has a wonderful helpline for that stuff.

Also hang on before you make your decision there are a ton of starcraft guys that are sure to chime in.

SoonerD

Cadet

Thanks, This is my first restoration and appreciate the years of experience from users on this site. I am using Supermarine paint & primer and I'm sure there isn't a problem with using filler in conjunction with these products but will call the manufacturer. My main concern is making sure that the filler isn't going to chip out in the near future.

Any help would be appreciated!

I'll post pictures when I'm done with this project. By the way, the first thing I did was get the trailer set up to properly support the weight of the boat and replace the axels, springs, tires, wheel etc. There was NOTHING about that project that I enjoyed and it turned out to be a money pit! I'm looking forward to the boat restoration.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

By the way, the first thing I did was get the trailer set up to properly support the weight of the boat and replace the axels, springs, tires, wheel etc. There was NOTHING about that project that I enjoyed and it turned out to be a money pit! I'm looking forward to the boat restoration.