Novice Trolling Motor Wiring Question

Skook

Seaman Apprentice
As the title implies, I have little experience with electrical work and even less with boats. Presently, I have a Minn Kota transom mount trolling motor that I wire by using a manual reset circuit breaker to simply connect the wires to the battery located at the stern. I'm not comfortable with trailering the boat with the TM mounted or leaving it that way once at home, and so I put it on and take it off at the loading dock, and it is sort of a pain in the neck to connect and disconnect the wires every time I use the boat.

I have been thinking about splicing some type of receptacle and plug onto the motor/battery to make getting the motor on and off much quicker. However, I haven't figured out the best way to splice the motor wires into a receptacle/plug while still incorporating the circuit breaker into the set-up.

Any ideas as to how this would best be accomplished are appreciated. Thanks.

Skook

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Novice Trolling Motor Wiring Question

Thanks for the reply. I have seen some of these connecters, but I'm not sure how or where to splice in the circuit breaker. Do I just connect the positive wire from the motor to the circuit breaker and then run a piece of wire from the circuit breaker to the connecter ? Should I put the circuit breaker in line with the wires that are connected to the motor or the wires leading to the battery? Should I use butt connecters or some other method?

Also, should I go with the quick connect type (flat, square-looking connecters) or should I go with a plug and receptacle type? I was wondering whether I should mount the circuit breaker and maybe the receptacle onto the transom. For now, I drilled two holes into my plastic battery box and mounted the circuit breaker to the outside of the box just to keep it in place somewhere.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner