Mercruiser 3.0, is this normal...?

itchynackers

Recruit
I'm new to boating this year. I have a 2004 sea ray 180 with the Mercruiser 3.0 135hp engine. I'm currently winterizing it (learning to) and noticed that when the drive is fully up, I can see a flexible rubber tube (exhaust bellows?) coming from the engine. It has a steel band clamp on it, but isn't clamped to anything. It looks like it is supposed to clamp to the drive unit, but doesn't appear to be long enough (when the drive is trimmed up). When the drive is fully down, the drive unit port slides nearly into the bellows. My questions are: 1) Should I try to connect it? 2) Is it a problem if I dont? 3) Will water wash in there and ruin my engine? If it helps, I can post a picture of it.

Thanks,

Adam

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner
Re: Mercruiser 3.0, is this normal...?

I'm new to boating this year. I have a 2004 sea ray 180 with the Mercruiser 3.0 135hp engine. I'm currently winterizing it (learning to) and noticed that when the drive is fully up, I can see a flexible rubber tube (exhaust bellows?) coming from the engine. It has a steel band clamp on it, but isn't clamped to anything. It looks like it is supposed to clamp to the drive unit, but doesn't appear to be long enough (when the drive is trimmed up). When the drive is fully down, the drive unit port slides nearly into the bellows. My questions are: 1) Should I try to connect it? 2) Is it a problem if I dont? 3) Will water wash in there and ruin my engine? If it helps, I can post a picture of it.

Thanks,

Adam

Hi Adam,

There's 2 types of exhaust tube/bellows.

1. Exhaust tube. connected at one end (gimbal).
2. Exhaust bellows connected at both ends.

Both are ok although the tube might be a little noisier.

My previous engine/drive (460 King Cobra:eek:) ran about 15 years with NO exhaust bellows. didn't hurt a thing....