74 650EL cuts out at full throttle

littlelaker

Recruit
Hello everone. I am new to boating but have some basic knowledge about outboard motors. I am trying to figure out why my 650 3 cyl. is cutting out at full throttle. Had replaced some fuel lines to carb and cleaned and rebuilt carbs. Checked filter mesh for debris. New fuel line and bulb and 6 gal tank. Idles great in water and out with the muffs on the garden hose. Sputters on throttle. I am thinking about the fuel pump needing rebuild kit. Also wondering about a broken aluminum cowl bracket that has as mesh ground wire mounted on the top and bottom. Could this cause some electrical short. Bracket mounts at the rear of motor over and around the spark plugs. What type of fuel should I be using in this older motor? I have read not to use cheap fuel with added ethanol or a high octane fuel. Not sure what to use. Any advice is greatly appreciated. ANyone else with this or similar motor around? Feel free to PM.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: 74 650EL cuts out at full throttle

Sounds like a fuel pump rebuild is in order. Use regular unleaded gasoline and mix at 50::1 ratio with any TCW motor oil.

You might try pumping the primer bulb as you go to WOT. If that fixes it, it is very likely fuel pump.

littlelaker

Recruit

Thanks for the tip. Fuel pump rebuild sounds like a cheap option and good to know fuel pump is good then. Now just to find the parts. :)

lindy46

Captain

Did you open the vent on the gas tank?

sschefer

Rear Admiral

Did you do a final setup of the idle jets. If you left them at the factory setting they're probably too rich and when you hit that last bit of throttle your flooding out.

I had that happen on a 4 cylinder 100 then I remembered I was still at 1-3/4. I turned the idle screws down to 1-1/2 then 1-1/4 and it fixed it.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner