Awesome sturgeon bite of California's Sacramento River

CoachPotato

Petty Officer 3rd Class
October 20-22

This week's three day sturgeon safari just off the ship channel near Decker Island, just south of Rio Vista, Ca on the Sacramento River was unusually productive!

I had five hooked over the three days, and three of them to the boat. I released two at opposite ends of the slot - one about 46" and maybe 25 pounds, another around 66" and 65+ pounds, I'd guess. I couldn't get a good measure of him in the water, so released him to pursue his pleasure upriver at the spawn. I kept one at 49" and 30 pounds. (That's my second kept sturgie of the year; I now have one tag left.)Every one of them took the same old lamprey eel I've been carving on for six months - actually longer than that, I think. I've frozen and thawed it several times, and it still works great! Figuring the time one eel lasts, at $40 per, they're still the cheapest sturgeon bait around!

Wow! I'm still buzzed. It was an exciting three days of brawling with the mighty sturgeon.

Photos and complete story at my homepage www.FishWisher.com

Dale

FishyFish

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Awesome sturgeon bite of California's Sacramento River

Great Story! I have also used eel and had good luck with frozen Squid.

Fish

Starcraftguy1

Petty Officer 1st Class

I love reading about your sturgeon fishing.Can't wait for the next one.Great website.

NO WHINERS

Petty Officer 1st Class

Thanks for the great story about your trip...Thats one fish I have yet to target....Is the eel alive when you buy it?? Pretty pricey bait but I guess you get a lot of mileage out of it...

CoachPotato

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Thanks, guys. The eel is frozen and is Lamprey only. They last a long time as the little nippers can't steal it.

Just got back from another trip there, will start a new thread...

Dale

grego

Petty Officer 1st Class