Recommend an inflatable boat to a newb?

roobix

Recruit
Completely new.. but Hello Everyone!

I'm new to boating, but not to fishing.. and would like to found a boat that can seat 2 or 4 people for ocean fishing..

I've been looking at the Sea Eagle SR 14, but unfortunately reviews for it are slim to none.. so I'm reaching out or recommendations and suggestions.

I'm worried about getting a boat that's not made for the Ocean waves and/or getting a motor that won't get me back to safety when the weather turns rough..

Any suggestions?

Sorry if my questions are full of gaps ... really new to this..

One other question:

Is there a site that tells you what the different boat classes mean?

I'm trying to figure out if a class III white water boat can withstand the ocean, but can't find any info.. I found a site talking about Ocean class.. but I don't really see "Ocean Class" listed much anywhere..

Thanks!

NYGiants

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Recommend an inflatable boat to a newb?

just buy a real boat instead of RIB

Drowned Rat

Captain

Don't listen to NY, inflatables are great boats and LOTS of fun. I need a price range before I can suggest anything. The choices are too many.

roobix

Recruit

Don't listen to NY, inflatables are great boats and LOTS of fun. I need a price range before I can suggest anything. The choices are too many.

Sorry, NY. I don't have room for a real boat or the type of car to tow one.

I'm willing to spend 2500 - 3000 for a boat and hopefully a motor?

Not really sure how fast a motor i need for 2 or 4 people.. but I'd like to have one that would get me fast enough away from approaching unfriendly weather.

Drowned Rat

Captain

Well, that's economy class for sure. For the conditions and load you describe, I would look for a 16' SIB and a 40hp motor. New, you're looking at nearly twice your budget though. If you want to go smaller, I'd say a 14' and 30hp is the minimum depending on what you're using the boat for.

kenkolen

Recruit