How much have you paid for Labor on your boat?

BugsBunnyBoater

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I was wondering how much others are paying for Service labor on their boats?
Locally in Beaumont, Tx I am paying 84.00 per hour.

BLU LUNCH

Lieutenant
Re: How much have you paid for Labor on your boat?

Cheap..........120.00 here

Adjuster

Petty Officer 1st Class

Palm Beach
Broward
Miami-Dade
Counties $85.00 per hour.

rbh

Fleet Admiral

the neighbour usually charges out at a six pack per call out, but he shares:D

seabob4

Lieutenant Commander

I make sure I get at least $50 per hour. That's on troubleshooting/than fix it jobs. Where I know what has to be done? $100.

The job gets done in the morning, the day after a customer calls, and he/she can be out on the water that afternoon...

Try some of this for yourselves, you'll understand why the rates are up there!;)

grahamh

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Nothing!

I do it myself.

But really, that's not bad, when I was a auto tech, the shop I worked at charged $120, and most car dealers now are like $150.

seabob4

Lieutenant Commander

grahamh,
Last weekend changed out the ball joints in my Volvo wagon. Parts cost me $63.

There are those who can do the job, and there are many more who pay to get the job done...that's where we make our money!:)

werthert

Petty Officer 1st Class

It's bound to be expensive. My guy is $90 hour, less if he has to find/troubleshoot. I honestly don't think its unreasonable when you consider all the schools, overhead, insurance, equipment, rent, etc, they have to pay for just to work on your boat.
Yeah they're gonna make some money. It's also somewhat of a niche market. I put $4K a year into my slip/maintenance/repair/new boat/insurance fund. You gotta budget for it, at least I do.

Then again, the boat is my only real toy and I enjoy it immensely. You're gonna spend it on something, might as well be something you enjoy.

seabob4

Lieutenant Commander