Another kicker motor question...

JSGOLD

Chief Petty Officer
We took a nice long drive this weekend to pick up our"new" 1961 Evinrude 5.5HP kicker motor near Columbus, Ohio. This motor looks and runs great, had cables and shifter control for mounting near my other controller, so I should be able to shift and steer both motors from the drivers seat. Only thing I am waiting for is the dual motor connector I bought from iboat. I did have a question regarding the mounting of this motor though...
On the 55HP unit it is directly in the center of the transom, and is bolted down as well as clamped. The 5.5 cannot fit with the bigger motor on the wooden part of the transom, so is it any big deal to smply clamp it to the metal part and then connect it? Or, should these motors be centered somehow, maybe shifting to the right enough for both to attach to the wooden section? As you can tell I am new to this. My boat is a 76 Starcraft, 16ft.

JSGOLD

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Another kicker motor question...

What is the main purpose of this adjustable mount? Trying to learn about this stuff as I go. The 5.5 has clamps and fits nicley on the transom, but just not on the wooden "plate" where the 55 is. Is this used to level the motors to the same depth, protect the metal part of the transom, and how would you mount it? Drill holes in the metal portion of the transom or shift the 55 to the right slightly? Sorry for all of the questons, trying to learn this stuff, all new to me LOL.

JSGOLD

Chief Petty Officer

I was lookimg around on the internet a short time ago and ran accross a couple of boats with these adjustable units....looks like you can mount them anywhere with them....but I see one possble problem. What I plan to do it have the two motors always connected and steering together, so we can so to any lake around here. I have a connection kit coming from iboats to tie the motors together, would this adjustable mount help that or hurt that idea??

JSGOLD

Chief Petty Officer