Stop Leak in lower unit?

willp2

Seaman
I have a 200HP Mercury that has water coming into the lower unit. the oil is milky after a few hours out.

I'm planning on pulling the lower unit and replacing all the seals after the fishing season, which is a couple months away and many fishing trips from now.

I?m wondering if it would make any sense to add some transmission stop leak to the lower unit it the meantime to perhaps get the leak to mellow out until I can pull the lower unit.

So anyone have any thoughts, first on if may damage anything and then if I do add it, how long do I leave it in there? Is it safe for a few hours?

Thanks for any thoughts on this.

robert graham

Admiral
Re: Stop Leak in lower unit?

If it's salt water then you better go ahead and replace seals right away. If fresh water then you could just drain and refill with fresh fluid every week or so until fishing season is over and you can replace the seals. I have no experience with the stop leak products for marine applications, but if you are willing to experiment with your lower end, then go for it. I know the Lucas Stop Leak for automotive power steering fluid totally stopped mine from leaking. Good Luck!

robert graham

Admiral

I want to clarify that regarding the Lucas Stop Leak for automotive applications. I was talking about my Buick power steering, not my outboard motor. Good Luck!

willp2

Seaman

Thanks for the input. As you can tell I'm just trying not to loose any fishing time, but I don't want to do that at the expense of my lower unit.

I was planning on having the mechanic do the seals and impeller at the end of the season. How big a job is this? Something I could do myself over a weekend or leave it to the pros?

Thanks,
-Will

Jeff_G

Petty Officer 2nd Class