88' 48 SPL. good day gone bad!

trddunn

Cadet
I am fairly new to boating and hope you guys could point me in the right direction. Today my Son, bro in law, nephew and I were out fishing with my 88 Gulf Line w a 48 SPL and all was great. The boat ran great all day! We were headed back in at WOT and all of a sudden the boat comes to a stop and my RPM's rev up w a bad grinding. First I thought prop but all was good there. I put it in reverse and it worked ok. So we had to troll back to the trailer in reverse! Everyone was looking at us funny but at least we got back safe. Now with all that being said does anyone know what happend and how to fix. I am mech inclined so I want to do it myselfe. Thanks -Jason-

mikesea

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 88' 48 SPL. good day gone bad!

not a good sign,sorry to hear it,start by pulling the oil from the lower unit,I suspect you will find metal shavings,if so,you need to pull the gearcase apart and then go from there.IO believe there is some kind of problem in those lowerunits.Based on ,I know few guys that had theirs blow and there arent many around either from rebuild shops or used.I hope you have good luck.Report back,I think certain 50 and 55 horse engines interchange,but some of the eperts here can give you the absolute there.Ebay is a great place to find used stuff.

rolmops

Vice Admiral

Don't panic.
It may well be that your remote cable was just slightly misadjusted and this may have caused the outboard to slip out of gear.
Remember,when repairing an outboard always check out the simple and cheap possibilities first.

trddunn

Cadet

Don't panic.
It may well be that your remote cable was just slightly misadjusted and this may have caused the outboard to slip out of gear.
Remember,when repairing an outboard always check out the simple and cheap possibilities first.

Would that cause grinding? If it is an adjustment issue how do I adjust it?

trddunn

Cadet