Help!! Putting lower unit back together 50hp force

kenny26

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I'm replacing the seals on my lower unit. I put the lower unit back together...put shift yoke into the linkage, propeller shaft in place, replace bearing cage and bolt the upper gearcase to the lower. Everything seems fine, except when i put the prop back on I tried to rotate the prop and it seems to be VERY difficult to rotate. Is this normal?

I found that in neutral, i can rotate the prop with 2 hands but there is a decent amount of resistance. When I shift it into gear i can turn it, but can hear gears clashing a bit. This is just rotating it by hand with no lube in the lower unit.

With the drive shaft in place, the drive shaft will rotate when i turn the prop, but I can't get the driveshaft to turn by turning it manually.

TireFryer

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Help!! Putting lower unit back together 50hp force

I am a newb as well, but I just got done rebuilding my lower as well on my 55, so here goes...

I am assuming that you have only bolted the gearcase to the LU... and not to the motor leg yet?

Did you replace the prop shaft and drive shaft seals? make sure these were seated properly and are not askew in as that could "bind" shaft and keep from turning properly.

BTW, are the gears, bearing, shift yoke, shift cam, ..., totally free of any lube (you cleaned all the parts and they are squeaky clean and lube-free)? If so, that might be a reason. There should be some sort of lube on these so that you are not ruining them by turning them dry.

You could have a tough time turning the driveshaft w/ your hand as you might not be able to get enough of a hold onto it to turn it. Make sure that the pinion gear is seated properly in the top of the gearcase so that it meshes properly w/ the forward/reverse gears and that the driveshaft is seated into the pinion gear fully.

Hope this helps!

kenny26

Petty Officer 2nd Class