4.3 Mercruiser Prop Questions

blorr

Cadet
I'm a newbie boat owner and have some questions.

I have a 4.3 Mercruiser with a Alpha One outdrive on a 18ft. Dynasty boat motor and boat are 1993.

Here are my questions:

What should be my top speed? I'm only getting up to 37mph with one person in the boat with it trimmed up. That seems slow.

What is the best prop? Currently I have a Solas 15 X 19 stainless 3 blade. We do ski alot behind it. Is this the best size and pitch?

Right now my max RPM's are barely getting to 4000 with it trimmed up. Is this too low? Does it matter?

I really appreciate your help. Some of these might be dumb questions, if so I apologize.

Thanks for the replies!

Brent

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 4.3 Mercruiser Questions

Re: 4.3 Mercruiser Questions

Since about 90% of this post is about speed and prop, I am going to move this over to the prop forum.

Sometimes the boat just dies while running at WOT. It takes about 10 minutes to get it started back. Is this a fuel pump issue?

I would suggest you post the above quote as a seperate question in the IO forum.
Asking to many different questions in one post is going to be real hard to follow, and will get you fewer answers.

hwsiii

Commander
Re: 4.3 Mercruiser Prop Questions

Blorr, you should be able to get 4,800 RPM out of that motor and since you are only getting 4,000 RPM you need to first check and see if you have a motor problem, which it appears you do from the other statement you made. After you have your motor right come back and I will be glad to help you find the right prop. We want to make sure that we don't change props and the find out you had the right prop all along but the motor problem caused the loss of RPM.

H

hwsiii

Commander

You are very welcome Brent.

H

blorr

Cadet

Let me ask this though.

What should be the typical top end speed at WOT for a 4.3 Mercruiser with a 18 ft boat?

Thanks,
Brent

sikz3

Petty Officer 1st Class