17' Chaparral / 3.0 Mercruiser - New Prop?

ashleygoodin

Cadet
Okay, I am a relative newbie to boating and prop selection is a bit of a mystery but I think I am catching on. Here is the lowdown on what I have -

1988 Chaparral 178XL - 17' bowrider.
3.0 Mercruiser @ 130 hp.
2bbl. carb / original configuration.
Alpha 1 outdrive, no clue as to ratio but can check tomorrow.
Speedometer doesn't work.
Tach works, still have more throttle to go when I hit 4000 RPM's, so I haven't run it at WOT.
Running a Merc Aluminum 3-blade, 17" Pitch, 15" diameter.

We like to load up the boat with friends, so running with 6 people total plus a bit of gear. I am looking to get a good hole shot (enough to bring up a 225# skier with a loaded boat), and decent speed. I still want a bit of wake for tubing and my wife wants to get into wakeboarding. I know that I probably need more hp and a bit larger boat, but I need to make the best out of what I have.

What is the suggestion? I would like to increase the pitch so that I could run WOT without redlining. What is the redline/optimal rpm for the Mercruiser 3.0?

Thanks!

AG

ashleygoodin

Cadet
Re: 17' Chaparral / 3.0 Mercruiser - New Prop?

Okay, I am a relative newbie to boating and prop selection is a bit of a mystery but I think I am catching on. Here is the lowdown on what I have -

1988 Chaparral 178XL - 17' bowrider.
3.0 Mercruiser @ 130 hp.
2bbl. carb / original configuration.
Alpha 1 outdrive, no clue as to ratio but can check tomorrow.
Speedometer doesn't work.
Tach works, still have more throttle to go when I hit 4000 RPM's, so I haven't run it at WOT.
Running a Merc Aluminum 3-blade, 17" Pitch, 15" diameter.