Newbie - Need advice pls

petejung

Cadet
I just came into this boat and motor. I've posted a couple of other questions, and I'll probably have lots more.

Here's a total newbie question.

The motor is a 1971 80hp mercury 4 cylinder. It does not have power Tilt and Trim. There is a set of holes on the back of the motor mount where a bar slides through, and on the motor itself is a couple of hook like things (forgive me for not knowing the proper terminology for all of this. If someone could set me straight, I'd appreciate it). When the motor comes down, it doesn't hook around the bar. I have to move the hook mechanism, which is spring loaded, to catch the bar. That's no big deal. My concern is there is no "positive lock" on the hooks, i.e. if I lift the motor up, it comes right off the bar. This doesn't seem right, or is it? Is there something else I need to do to lock the motor down in place, or is there a part that may be missing from the motor?

Thanks in advance, and thanks for putting up with my stupid questions.

Moody Blue

Captain
Re: Newbie - Need advice pls

What you are describing is two different systems.

On the transom bracket (attached to the boat) you will see 5 holes (I think) on each side of the motor in a crescent shaped casting. Passing thru one of these set of holes should be a removable metal pin about 3/8" diameter and 7" long. This is your trim adjustment and trim pin. The motor will rest on this pin while under way. The position of the pin in the holes determines the angle of the motor to the boat (trim) and how it rides in the water.