1972 johnson 65 hp ob 50th edition

Bassluver

Recruit
Hey guys newbie here and need some advice i was just recently given a boat and was told that when it was last used probably about 15 years ago that it was in mint condition motor and boat when it was parked and never been in the water since guess my ? is how do i go about seeing if this boat/motor will start or run i don't have the funds right now to take it to a shop or have no idea what they might charge me to look at it can ya'll tell me a ballpark figure or what steps i should take to see if motor runs it looks like it's in mint condition when you pull the cover off everything looks greased up on it just needing a little guidance on how to proceed with this i really like to restore this boat any advice anyone!

Bassluver

Recruit
Re: 1972 johnson 65 hp ob 50th edition

Hello agian just ckecking to see if anyone has replied back since i'm also new to this site i don't know if i'm looking in the right place for replies pls help and thanks again.

TN-25

Chief Petty Officer

My advice at the very least is to replace the rubber impeller in the water pump with a new impeller. They are cheap to replace, designed to be replaceable, and serious problems will result if it fails due to lack of replacement. Do I sound a bit biased? I would hate to see your old classic wrecked due to the broken rubber impeller vanes clogging the water passages and ruining an otherwise good motor. Look into it for sure!