I should not do this but why?

emtmike

Seaman Apprentice
OK I am new to the whole boat thing. I had a 97 SeaDoo Challenger that I got cheep, cleaned it up and sold it. Ended up making some cash on it. I just picked up what I think is a 79 Grand Prix. The floor has this cheep astro turf kind of stuff on it and the seats are just hanging on. The deck itself seems solid. The guy I got it from said it got a new deck last year. What I was thinking of doing was stripping up all the carpet and either getting that rhino liner stuff or using the truck bead stuff you can get at the auto parts store. I then was thinking of laying some of that composite decking you use on your house deck. I know this is probably not a good idea but I am not sure why it wouldn't be. Any advice would be great. Thanks MIKE

emtmike

Seaman Apprentice
Re: I should not do this but why?

Please there must be someone here that can tell me this is a bad idea before I do it.

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,... Weight,.... Why add the Weight of the decking,...

Just the bedliner alone is Fine,... Some lines carry many Colors to choose from....

jonesg

Admiral

House composite decking is very heavy and weak. NG.

allpoints360

Petty Officer 1st Class

The floor has this cheep astro turf kind of stuff on it and the seats are just hanging on. The deck itself seems solid.

Why are the seats just hanging on? Are they screwed to the deck? Do you believe the seller that the deck was replace last year?

emtmike

Seaman Apprentice

I did pull up a little of the turf and the deck there looked new. The seats are sitting on box type stands the are made from OSB. That stuff sucks and is wet and falling apart.

Andy in NY

Commander

emtmike, the composite decking offers very little in terms of strength, it more expensive and is heavier than plywood.