1980 SRV-192 Tilt problem

Fletch71

Recruit
Hi folks, first off I'm new to boating and have limited working knowledge of engines, so please be gentle. ;)

Here's my problem. I have a 1980 Searay with a 470 (or what's left of it) and just had the trim cylinders refurbished because they were pitted. Raising and lowering the drive worked fine for a couple of runs after I got it back, but then it would no longer lower.

Trying to raise the motor, you hear the relay click then the whirr of the pump. Trying to lower the motor, you just hear the relay, nothing else. Drive is in the fully raised position.

I noticed that on the bottom of the unit (has 79291a1 painted on the side, but I haven't been able to find what type of tilt unit it is), one of the connections was leaking fluid when trying to raise the motor. I tightened that and re-topped off the fluid, still same result.

Is there a way to:

A: Identify what type of power unit I have.
B: Troubleshoot the problem further.

I'm on a small isolated lake without a marina and since the drive is in the full up position it would take me a painful amount of time to limp it over to the boat launch and then trailer it an hour to the shop that just worked on it.

[Updated with link to picture of tilt unit]
205xvtc.jpg

Thanks

TowRoper

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1980 SRV-192 Tilt problem

not 100% sure but to me it sounds like the impeller part of the pump is DOA its been a while since i seen the inside of a tilt pump but i believe it is held in place by a set screw on a flat spot on the drive shaft, but like i said its been a long long time not much help but food for thought?

cr2k

Captain

Try giving the upper of the motor housing a tap NOT and smack but a few taps. If this makes it work at all (and it may not work for long) your brushes are probably rusted in the holders. Most of the time they will work one way and not the other for some reason.