1973 Grady White Restore

Hibbity_Jibbity

Recruit
Hey Guys,

I picked up this little beauty for $350 everything included. This is my first project boat and I'm excited to get her in the water. I'm not in a hurry and would like to do everything right the first time. All in all, the boat is in pretty good shape, the major work ahead of me right now is replacing the transom and decking. Everything else appears to be structurally sound. I have read countless posts on transom replacement but still have a few questions, how would you recommend that I go about doing this repair? The reason why I ask is because there is some glass work needed on the exterior of the stern and I have not been able to find a post yet covering this type of work. Could someone offer some advice or point me in the direction of a post documenting similar type of work. Thanks for your help!

-Justin

Attachments

• 290187385_o.jpg
    290187385_o.jpg
    65.8 KB · Views: 3
  • 290187427_o.jpg
    290187427_o.jpg
    77.7 KB · Views: 4

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1973 Grady White Restore

That boat is cool as heck and if running that's a great motor you got on there. The trailer alone is worth more than you paid. Unfortunately I'm an aluminum boat guy so I don't have much advice for you on the transom. Hopefully one of the fiberglass experts will chime in.

Fishpoop

Petty Officer 3rd Class

$350! :eek: that's a deal. I'm a tin canner also so I'm no good unless there is an aluminum soda can attached to that boat. :p Grady Whites are good solid boats and can take a good beating. How's the motor? Good luck with her!

jonesg

Admiral

Its gonna be a total gut out, transom and deck always go with the stringers under the deck, you can count on it. Its possible to do without pulling the cap but if you have the room , time and money I would pull the cap and at least slide it forward.
If you like the layout then do that, but at this point you can decide if you'd prefer to convert it to a center console.