Drag created by aftermarket tilt/trim.

dkhntr04

Recruit
Hi,

I have a 1999 Alumacraft V16LTD Mag with a '73 Merc 500 outboard. I recently added an Atlas tilt/trim unit made by TH Marine. The unit is essentially the same as the CMC PT-130. The unit causes my motor to have about 8" of setback from its original position. The height of the outboard in relation to the boat is the same.

The problem that I am having is that the 8" of setback is allowing the water coming out from below the hull to come upwards and hit the center area of the shaft housing and the tilt shocks/struts and then sprays up into the air. This is causing a lot of drag. My top speed went from 26 mph to 13 mph, fuel consumption is excessive.

Has anyone else experienced this or know of a fix? Are there any commercial products available which will help reduce the drag?

I am a competent machinist/welder/fabricator so building a custom solution is an option. As of now I am thinking of some sort of deflector to mount to the outboard's shaft housing to keep the water down, or some type of extension mounted bottom of the tilt/trim unit's frame to create a type of false hull to reach out towards the outboard to keep the water flow down.

Thanks

5150abf

Vice Admiral
Re: Drag created by aftermarket tilt/trim.

I have a CMC on mine and I do get a bit of spray on the motor but nothing like you are talking about.

Your loss of speed sounds pretty drastic and I wonder if there isn't another source, generally you gain speed as you can run the engine a bit higher with the set back.

Have you tried moving the motor to it's highest mounting position, that may help both your speed and spray problem.

I would try everything else before modifing anything, you are certain to void your warranty as soon as touch the TT and I would be REALLY shy about modifing the hull, you could get into all kinds of unintended problems there.