Bayliner Drain Tube Repair

Hi Everyone. I'm a newbie who has been fortunate enough to inherit a 1985 Bayliner Capri from my father-in-law. The boat hasn't run for at least five years and, for at least a brief time, was filled with water. I've never owned, much less restored a boat before, so I am fixing to learn a lot.

I've been lurking around the forum for a few weeks as I've worked to gather manuals and information. Now I think I'm ready to roll up my sleeves and start work.

Because of the water damage, the plywood deck is at least half rotten. I plan to attempt a replacement this winter. In the meantime, I'd like to start in the shallow end and repair the transom drain plug.

As you can probably see from the picture, the drain tube itself has been pulled out of the hull leaving behind three holes and a mess of old sealer.

I'm looking for advice on the best was to repair the drain. I've seen some posts that advocate PVC. I've read in other places that brass is best. I don't have easy access to the back side of the transom, so I need to know if it's okay to attempt a repair entirely from outside the hull.

Finally, while poking around in the boat, I came across a brass drain plug still in it's original package. Is it worth saving?

Attachments

• HoleinHull.jpg
    HoleinHull.jpg
    5.8 KB · Views: 1
  • DrainPlug.jpg
    DrainPlug.jpg
    15.4 KB · Views: 1

Lightnig

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Bayliner Drain Tube Repair

I'm no expert myself, having just acquired my first boat this summer and begun the resto on it. So take what I say with a grain of salt...

If the drain tube has been missing for some time the chances are extremely good the water has had a chance to work it's magic on the wood in the transom and the wood is most likely rotten. I would check the wood in the transom before putting too much time and effort into repairing the drain.