Water over motor hinge

Iandayen

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 14' Sea King fiberglass flat bottom jon boat with a 68 merc 50 horse outboard on it.

Bot planes awesome, motor is great, but when I get up towards max speed water starts pouring over the motor hinge just above transom, and can flood my transom out in a matter of a few seconds if I'm not careful.

I sort of fixed this by moving the manual trim out to the 4th hole from the boat (was at the second, so out 2 holes) and now very little water comes in, but I notice a difference in the amount of speed it takes to get on plane and the top speed of the boat.

Are there plates made to go there and redirect the water or is this not a common problem?

I can fabricate something I am sure, I was a welder before my computer days but I'm just wondering if there is a reason for this, rather than patch the symptom I'd rather fix the cause.

rbh

Fleet Admiral
Re: Water over motor hinge

is there any way to move weight around to the bow or put your boat on a diet?
is it sittin a little low?
rob

Iandayen

Seaman Apprentice

Yeah it sits a bit low, I have my fuel tank and battery in the back.

here is a picture of the boat out of water so you can see the general shape.

http://i31.tinypic.com/iekme0.jpg

When moving at slow speeds (not on plane) the rear of the boat sits pretty low, but once on plane it seems to level out nicely but the water comes over my hinge still.

Think If I put some ballast in the bow it would help?

rbh

Fleet Admiral

I was sort of shooten for floatation foam is saturated, or motor was to heavy.
rob

Iandayen

Seaman Apprentice

how would you go about checking the foam?

And the motor isn't too heavy for the boat I don't think, I can lift it myself (though it is large and awkward to do so) and I'm not a big guy, 6' 170lbs (and like 10-15 pounds is my gut)

Bondo

Staff member