Rough Running in Small To Moderate Chop

krewe

Recruit
I'm relatively new to boating. I recently purchased a 1991 Javelin 373 F/S. The motor is a Johnson 150 outboard. I took it out the other day on the lake for the 1st time to see how she handles. Everything went fine except that the boat was jumping every small wave or ripple it hit. I felt like I was running in the gulf on a large cigarette boat. It was jumping that bad. I had the motor trimmed all the way in. Is there something else I can do to stop this from happening?

DukesFin

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Rough Running in Small To Moderate Chop

A hydro-foil MIGHT help some, but probably slow the "descent" down more than anything else. Any weight you can move forward will help a little as well.

Someone else might chime in with a better response.

One other thing to consider is how much weight you've got in the stern of your boat. Did you check the transom before purchase to make sure it is sound? Sometimes, if water has invaded the transom, it will get very heavy with water soaking up into it AS WELL as any foam you've got back there.

krewe

Recruit

Thanks for the reply. The stern holds the standard gas/oil tanks and 3 batteries. It does have 3 livewells but, they were empty. As far as I can tell, the transom is pretty solid. No hollow spots or spider cracks. I also gave the motor several good downward pushes and saw no bend or give in the transom.

dingbat

Supreme Mariner

Buy a new boat. :D

That boat has a very flat hull design. It's the nature of the beast.

collind

Cadet