5.0 gxi-f timing question

boatkraz

Recruit
I have a 2006 reinell with a 5.0 gxi-f volvo penta with an sx drive. The boat seems a bit doggy out of the hole and I believe I have the right prop on it (19x14.5)since I am running good rpm on top end (5000). I tried to check the timing on the motor but it didn't seem to do anything as I moved the distributor back and forth. Is this sysem completely done by the computer and any alterations have to be done by somebody with the right stuff or is there a way for me to change the timing. I am new to boating, so maybe my expectations are a little high of the hole shot, but i think it should be better. Thanks in advance

Fun Times

Staff member
Re: 5.0 gxi-f timing question