1962 28hp Evinrude Tutoring needed

jeepers

Seaman Apprentice
Morning,

i am new to outboards and inherited this motor with a 14' fibreglass boat. i'm having a lot of fun tuning and cleaning and so on. The motor runs like a top but it just can't seem to get the boat on plane. Again, i'm new at this but it just seems as though i'm not getting all of the RPM that it has to offer. i think that i just have more LS/HS adjusting to do.

Here's where the turorial comes in. i added a bilge pump to the boat and took it out for a spin. The back end of the boat sits very low in the water and everytime i step in the back, i gain water through the transom drain. Cool, i get to test the bilge pump. As soon as i hit the pump button the engine pretty much cut out. There is no recharge circuit on this boat. Can someone explain to me why using electricity, which i assumed was coming directly and only from the battery, is causing the engine to faulter? Could this be telling me something about the difficulty i am having reaching RPM?

thanks in advance,
dean

coolguy147

Commander
Re: 1962 28hp Evinrude Tutoring needed

dont believe this motor needs the battery to run

umm trying pumping the primer bulb see if this helps

if u just got this motor and i would replace the impeller

ur boat might be waterlogged under the floor it should plane i belive

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

the blige pump should have only connections to the battery. it should have nothing to do with the motor. i assume you motor is electric start.

alangf

Petty Officer 2nd Class

the blige pump should have only connections to the battery. it should have nothing to do with the motor. i assume you motor is electric start.

Ditto on the bilge pump situation. It should be completely separate from the engine. Check wiring.
A good rule of thumb in boating, or anything else for that matter, is to always check the cheap things first. Make sure the engine is at the right height and the tilt angle is correct.