Bravo III is slipping as engine RPMs increase.

RegalMania

Cadet
I am new to this, so help me out if there is more information that I need to provide. I have a 2004 Regal 2400 with a 350 Mag and a Bravo III outdrive. The boat/ motor/ drive has about 75 hours on it, everything is original equipment. Last Saturday was the first time that I experienced this, the prior weekend showed no signs of an issue. When I engage the drive at idle speeds, the boat moves and tracks as it always has. As I throttle the engine up, the boat increases in speed but at a far less rate than previously, i.e. at 4800 RPM I am cruising at about 20MPH rather than the 50 MPH the prior weekend. The boat still moves so the drive is not completely broken, I just am not sure what the problem is. I have it at the local Regal dealer right now and they are scratching their heads based on my description (they have not yet torn into the boat to see what they find). I am asking for help for a few reasons: 1) to ensure that they diagnose and correct the real problem 2) to see if there is something that i can do to prevent this from happening again 3) to start this forum so that if there are others out there with the same issue, they too can benefit from the answer. Any help you can provide would be great. Thank you.

bhammer

Ensign
Re: Bravo III is slipping as engine RPMs increase.

I don't know the BIII drive, is it possible to have a spun hub on one of the props? The only other thought would be the engine coupler.

RegalMania

Cadet