You Gotta Be Kidding!!!!

rlb2252

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I?m a complete newbie reading and researching these boards. I came across lots of posts regarding engine blower issues?something I knew absolutely nothing about.

I couldn?t believe my eyes. Am I understanding this right: Are boats still exploding because of engine compartment fumes?

Allow me a brief, hysterical rant here:

I find that incomprehensible! Forty years ago we put a man on the moon, but today I can turn the key of my boat and go KABOOM!

It would seem to me?mechanical and technical idiot though I may be?that some solution would have long ago been discovered to alleviate this problem. Some solution other than a manually operated blower fan?that can so easily be forgotten by the skipper.

In a society as litigious as ours, with the guarantee of a multi-million dollar law suit from the survivors of such a catastrophe, wouldn?t it behoove manufacturers to rush into production some automated, near fool proof method to end this problem.

Or is the likelihood of an explosion so rare and the cost of a solution so prohibitive that it?s cheaper to keep things as they are?

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: You Gotta Be Kidding!!!!

Yup. Go with an outboard.

salty87

Commander

the vast majority of people seem to be able to handle the inherent risks. walking across the street is dangerous too.

please no more government. let me live my life.

jdlough

Master Chief Petty Officer

I agree. At least boats should maybe have a warning buzzer when turning the key (instead of starting), if the blower hasn't been run in a while.

Or maybe, turning the key should start the blower, and not let you start for a couple of minutes.

Or some kind of bilge gasoline sensor.

Or do what I do. Only get boats with outboards.

Jim

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner