5HP Nissan Long Shaft Stalling in Gear

creole77

Recruit
Hi,
I am new to this forum. I just purchased an older (late 90's I believe) 5hp Long Shaft Nissan that I am using on a small inflatable. The engine starts and idles well. Once I put it into forward it runs strong for about 5 minutes and then slowly putters out and ceases. When I tried to start it again it idles well and then almost immediately ceases when put in forward. I am new to boating and really would appreciate any feedback.

Thanks

pvanv

Admiral
Re: 5HP Nissan Long Shaft Stalling in Gear

What is the model?

Sounds like it may be a fuel starvation problem.

The 5 HP 2-strokes have on-board fuel tanks, and you will want the vent open. Quite common to forget that. The newer 4-strokes will be remote tank setups, so if that is your model, you will want to verify the remote tank vent is open. Regardless of model, make sure that the carb is clean and the float adjusted correctly, as well as making sure the fuel pump and filter are OK.

creole77

Recruit

Thanks for the input. The engine is a 2 stroke with the internal fuel tank. The vent has been opened up while running it. I will get the exact model/year this weekend when I go out to the boat but it has the greay cover so I think its an earlier 2000-2003??. I do suspect it is the carb and planned on getting a manual this weekend and taking it apart. I am not really mechanically inclined but am poor enough to give it a try! haha.

As far as the fuel pump and filter go is it worth it to buy additives to clean them out or is it possible this could worsen the problem?

Again I really appreciate the help and will repost after cleaning the carb this weekend.

Thanks!

pvanv

Admiral

A clean carb is a happy carb. For best results, clean it by soaking in a good cleaner such as Tyme. The spray stuff is often too superficial to help much.