Newbee questions...

jmac-2

Recruit
I am new to boating and new to this forum, and I have a couple of questions:

I have a 2008 Q5 (4.3)and recently I noticed that occasionally it will "diesel" or not want to turn off when I turn the ignition off. I could not get it to duplicate at the dealer. Should I simply try a higher grade of fuel?

Also, this week, my speedo guage stopped working. I have heard that this is a pretty easy fix, or do I have to take it in to the dealer to correct?

thanks

JMAC-2

solar7647

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Newbee questions...

Well not sure what kind of guage you have but there will be something connected to the Transom (the back of the boat if you didnt know) It sticks in the water and used water pressure to get speed. Some are a tube, witch can clog and some are a plastic "rod" that sticks streight down and when the water hits it and it presures the line and you get speed. Now if you Hit a stick or something it can be bent back and the speedo will stop, just flip it down and you will be ok.

Now as far as the engine not shutting off, you may want to use the thread for your engine you will get a better answer, but sounds like you may be running to ritch, maybe a carb adjustment. unless you have fuel injectors. Then I dont know.

good luck.

Q5inOH

Cadet

I have a new 2008 Q5 as well that had dieseling problems. Mine was ideling too high, dealer reset the idle to specs and it went away. He said they sometimes leave the idle a bit high for break in... I'm not sure what to believe, I always thought dieseling was from a hot spot not idle adjustment. Never ran it hard enough to get hot, haven't went over 4000 rpm. Never the less she doesn't do it any more, starts right up and purrs like a kitten.