888 merc coupler fix

302slick

Cadet
I'm new to iboats but have read postings here for a while.

I am about to replace a second coupler on a built 302 with a 888. Might be too much hp (around 300) for the aluminum coupler with small splines.
I know it could be alignment or lack of maintenance also.
I just don't want to ever have to pull the engine to change a third.

I saw an old thread where JasonB said "I know someone that has a built Ford smallblock that kept stripping stock couplers. He has lots of $$$ in that motor. I think he ended up having a Bravo couple machined to bolt to his engine." See mating a 351 to a mercruiser outdrive....
That post was 2006.
I'm waiting to hear from JasonB.

My other idea is to remake the flywheel cover with a removable cover that has enough room to take off the coupler. I would also reinforce to make up for loss of strength. Then I could leave the engine in and still change couplers.

Any other ideas?

Help save me from ever having to pull the motor to change a third I would appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

Bondo

Staff member
Re: 888 merc coupler fix

I know it could be alignment or lack of maintenance also.

Ayuh,.... It Ain't the HorsePower that's the Problem,...

I'd sooner think Bad alignment or a Lack of Grease....

302slick

Cadet

I understand the possible causes. I just boosted the hp so I thought it might have added to the problem.

I just really really don't want to take the motor out a third time regardless of the cause. Unless its a motor problem.

Two couplers in thirteen years isn't that bad.

mkast

Lieutenant Commander

Using the same coupler on a 300 horsepower 351, four years now.

302slick

Cadet

Thanks mkast.
At least that will help me rest easy about using a stock coupler.
What size boat/prop do you run that with?
A small boat might not put as much strain on the driveline.

mkast

Lieutenant Commander

The guys boat is a 1976 Hammond, 19.5.
If I remember correctly it uses a 21 propeller.

haulnazz15