1978 70 hp charging question/problem...

skagit17

Cadet
i have a 1963 17' skagit skimaster with a 1978 evinrude 70. it is the venerable 3 cylinder and runs like a sewing machine...but this weekend while i was out boating i killed the engine to talk to some friends and when i went to start the engine it went 'ruur' and wouldn't turn over. luckily, it is a great outboard and we pull started it (on the first try). the depth sounder had drained my battery - i checked the output of the engine at the battery and there was nothing. i looked under the cowling to trace out the generator and i didn't see anything obvious - please help! does the magneto power the generator via a rectifier? where would i find it? are there any fuses i should check first? thanks.

as a side note, a local marine repair shop has a 79 johnson 70 hp with a thrown rod...but it has a new ignition setup , good prop and lower end, and a newer starter. he wants $200 - i think i might pick it up.

Attachments

• 2640582712_10790e2018_m.jpg
    2640582712_10790e2018_m.jpg
    21.7 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1978 70 hp charging question/problem...

That engine incorporates a stator (alternator) under the flywheel (that large ring thingy) which emits AC voltage to a rectifier that converts the AC to DC voltage in order to charge the battery. I assume that the rectifier is faulty.

(Small Rectifier Description & Location)
(J. Reeves)

On most 2,3,4,6 cylinder engines, the small rectifier is located on the starboard (right) side of the engine just in front of the engines electrical wiring strip. There are a few older V4 engines that have the wiring strip on the rear portion of the engine and the rectifier would be located just under that terminal strip. The smaller horsepower engines usually have the rectifier located on the starboard side of the powerhead close to the carburetor area.