plywood, epoxy, fiberglass

dhowardjr

Recruit
I am a hobby woodworker, who is starting to take commissions from non-family for the first time. My first customer is a boat owner who needs to replace the door to his cabin, and wants to replace some plywood side panels that have degraded. Our first thought was to use solid teak for the doors, but as I began to think about replacing the plywood, I developed another idea. Hopefully more cost effective.

I am wondering about using plywood, sealing it with fiberglass or epoxy, and laminating it with teak. I like the look of teak decking, and would like to laminate strips of teak onto the plywood, using solid teak to band the edges. I would also like to caulk between the strips, again to give it the look of a traditional teak deck. I?ve never done anything like this, and am trying to decide if it would be worthwhile.

The doors are ? inch thick. I was thinking about using ? or ? inch plywood. I can cut the teak veneer to my desired thickness, though I?d like for it to be 3/32 to 1/8 inch thick. I?m not sure what would be the best product to seal the plywood with (epoxy or fiberglass) nor am I aware of the best way to attach the veneer to the plywood once it is sealed (I was thinking some form of epoxy).

Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated.

oops!

Supreme Mariner
Re: plywood, epoxy, fiberglass

the fiberglass will not do you any good in that situation.
it will only ruin the nice finish you want.
tho i have not used it....clear penetrating sealing epoxy might do the trick.

i beleive the usaual fix for that is to use spar varnish over the wood.....however....its teak....and that stuff wants oil !

oops!

Supreme Mariner

oh.....and by the way

cheers and welcome to i boats....the best boating forum in the world

chrishayes

Senior Chief Petty Officer