Is this normal? Hard to start when hot!

Bilgamesh

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am new to boating, having recently bought a '98 model 17' Regal 3.0L I/O. I have posted a couple times regarding hard starting, but as I have continued to research, I may be complaining about something the average boater accepts as perfectly normal. What changed my mind was a review of a NEW boat similar to mine, in which the reviewer stated,

"Although most carbureted engines are hard to start and usually require that special touch only owners develop over time, this entry level engine has the Turn Key Start (TKS) system that doesn?t require the driver to do anything but turn the key".

When I go to start my motor, I have to give it some throttle, then back it off into neutral to idle. Later, when I turn it off to drop somebody in the water, I have been expecting it would start back up without going through this routine. Instead, if I leave it in neutral, and try to start it, the motor just cranks without turning over. To get it started, I always have to give it throttle, but it does always start reliably. Is this normal? The article seems to suggest it is. If so, I will be happy to learn my boat is fine, and this is to be expected. On the other hand if I really need a new carb or kit, I would like to have a realistic outlook about that. I would appreciate any thoughts.

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member
Re: Is this normal?

I would suggest a full tune up. It just may have some clogged carb passages or a weak plug wire....... Since it is "new" to you I would suspect all you have is a verbal history about the boat. You need to convert verbal maintenance to real maintenance. ;)

Thad

Lieutenant Junior Grade

I would suggest a full tune up. It just may have some clogged carb passages or a weak plug wire....... Since it is "new" to you I would suspect all you have is a verbal history about the boat. You need to convert verbal maintenance to real maintenance. ;)