Overheating Where Do I start

CBarr

Cadet
I have a 88 Wellcraft with a 4.3 GM motor it appears I just bought. First time I took it out busted the lower unit and a boat repair guy who was a friend of who I got boat from rebuilt lower unit. After changing fuel filters and oil decided I was going to take her out. after 5 min of running WOT at about 4500 rpm noticed temp gauged jumped to 240. Shut her down on water still had dog house off and the as alot of cracklin/poping and smoke and I thought I was in trouble. Got it back to house- exhaust manifolds were steaming hot but no burnt wires or anything unusual I could see, let her cool off a few hours and checked and there was no thermostat. Put on boot, water comng out of little hole on lower unit started it up and with 5 minutes of idling with one rev up temp went from 140 to 200. Im new to boats and know just enough about cars to be dangerous...Could this be a bad waterpump by chance or something else.

gshldon

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Overheating Where Do I start

first i would check that your exhaust manifolds are working properly and make sure you have a thermostat in. also, when was the last time the impeller was changed, i would check into that one also

Good luck

CBarr

Cadet

Stupid question--- how do i verify that? This is where I dont clearly understand is how the whole cooling system works in a boat.

I need to verify but I think it was changed when I had the lower unit rebuilt.. I know Gibler bearing was replaced.

Tired and cant spell tonight :)

gshldon

Petty Officer 2nd Class

not sure of your last question, are you wondering how to check the manifolds?

CBarr

Cadet

Yes-- I understand car motors in general and how normal cooling systems works but not sure how it works in a boat- I had lower unit rebuilt with new seals and new gibler bearing would the mechanic have seen impeller doing this? He is friend of a friend that is supposed to been trustworthy.

gshldon

Petty Officer 2nd Class