Saving the finish on my new toy?

huskerdaninva

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hi all! I'm a newbie and I recently bought an old 1969 Chrysler Valiant 14' runabout w/ 70 hp Chrysler OB. I have posted some pictures of my son with the boat when we got her home. My question is what can I use to try and save the finish on the fiberglass? The hull is in excellent shape and was a vibrant red color at one time... now it is kind of pink!! The sides are very chalky and milky looking. Can I use good old rubbing compound to cut through and remove the discolorization? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
"Husker" Dan

Attachments

• valiant1.jpg
    valiant1.jpg
    25.6 KB · Views: 0
  • valiant2.jpg
    valiant2.jpg
    19.9 KB · Views: 0
  • valiant3.jpg
    valiant3.jpg
    14.1 KB · Views: 0
  • valiant4.jpg
    valiant4.jpg
    15.4 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

Rickairmedic

Commander
Re: Saving the finish on my new toy?

Dan wet sand it starting with 600 grit and working up to 1200 then buff it with Polishing compound then wax it :D.Welcome to iboats

Rick

huskerdaninva

Petty Officer 1st Class

Dan wet sand it starting with 600 grit and working up to 1200 then buff it with Polishing compound then wax it :D.Welcome to iboats

Rick

Thanks and Thanks Rick. I kind of had a feeling it was going to involve wet sanding. I was hoping to perhaps avoid sanding and utilize a chemical/restorer. You know like Nu-Finish!
"Husker" Dan

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member

Well you can try a heavy duty compound first w/o sanding. You will need a posiher..... be careful not to burn the finish.

Before you do anything scrub it down with comet and clean the heck out of it.

huskerdaninva

Petty Officer 1st Class