92 Johnson 120hp W/ (vro) Removal Good Idea Or Bad Idea?? Help!!

amoore51

Cadet
I have a 1992 Johnson 120 hp v4 (vro) with the automatic oil injection for the 2 cycle gas oil mixture. I have heard a lot of things both good and bad. My question is would it be a good idea or bad idea to remove the automatic oil injection system and go with pre mixing my own fuel??? Also if I keep it on there is there any kind of warning sytem that alerts you if there is a malfunction with the oil injection system? Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated I am a novice at best when it comes to boats and outboard motors!! THANKS

Cricket Too

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 92 Johnson 120hp W/ (vro) Removal Good Idea Or Bad Idea?? Help!!

In my opinion there isn't much bad associated with a VRO/OMS. I have never had a problem in 20 years of having them.

A lot of the stories you hear are just that, things that people who don't know any better keep passing along, mostly caused by bad mechanics blaming the oiling system for a completely unrelated problem and people not knowing any better.

If you do a Search here, you will find countless posts about this.

Originally they didn't have warning systems on them, but as they advanced OMC came out with different warning systems, known as System Check. I would think that your Tach may already have it in there, unless the Tach was replaced with a non OMC tach.

Originally there would be a different sound for each problem associated with the motor, like overheat, low oil in the tank, no oil, or fuel restriction....overheat will be a long loud alarm, low oil will be a short intermittant alarm, and so on for each different problem.

But the newer of the system checks use the same sound, a long loud alarm, and then light up a different light on the dash for each problem above.

In any case, I would leave it on if it were me, it makes life a lot easier and is a pretty reliable system. Just my opinion.

James R

Commander