Oil Light + Stalls in Gear + Two Cylinders Not Firing

Buoybuoy

Cadet
Hey folks, newbie here.....awesome forum!

I just purchased a used boat with a 1996 Evinrude OceanPro 200, model E200TXEDR. Compression is decent(?) ranging from 95-110 on all cylinders.

It starts with no issue, but the "No Oil" light goes on after warming up. It also stalls when I put it into gear (only runs in neutral) and I have two cylinders not firing.

Do these three issues have commonality?

Thanks!

jonesg

Admiral
Re: Oil Light + Stalls in Gear + Two Cylinders Not Firing

If its new to you then you ought to go through the whole thing.
Check the lower gear oil, use new seals on the drain screws.
Get the genuine service manual, best thing you can do for it.
www.outboardbooks.com

Maybe swap a coil around with a good one and see if the problem follows the coil. Does it use 2 pack coils?
Mine is a 1994 and one coil fires 2 sparkplugs, double barrel coils.
Are your non firing coils on the same side or opposite?

Are the coils not sparking or the cylinder not firing?
"Cylinder not firing" could be a carb issue and the plug might be sparking.!

Compression is at the max range, it might benefit from a seafoam treatment after you sort out the other problems.

Buoybuoy

Cadet

Jones G,

Thanks so much for the response. I found the original OMC service manual on E-Bay for $35 so I went ahead and ordered it. I'll go ahead an pick up new lower unit drain plug seals too.

The stator was the culprit here, pricey part at $374.

I still need to deal with the oil light, it probably needs a new pump, not sure yet. Perhaps I'll disconnect it altogether and mix oil in directly with the fuel.

I'll search around here for how to perform the SeaFoam treatment.

Thanks again for your help, I appreciate it.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

you might need to clean and flush the oil system., but converting to pre mix is very easy.
VRO conversion w/ pump still working