Looking for info on a motor

Scottydawg

Cadet
Hey everybody. Someone gave me this motor. It is a Chrysler and it says "Sailor 250" on the front. I am new to boat motors. Can anyone tell me what it is and point me to where I can get a repair manual for it (free is best). Atleast how to find out what year and HP it is.

Attachments

• motor.jpg
    motor.jpg
    45.1 KB · Views: 0

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
Re: Help

The Chrysler sailor model engine was an electric start, alternator charging engine. It was extra long shaft with a lower gear ratio and larger propeller than standard model outboards. It was made specifically for transoms of sailboats and was geared to move a displacement hull through the water, as well as being a source of low amperage 12 volt current. The prop on it will usually be a 10 3/8 diameter prop same as was used on the 35, 45, and 55 horsepower engines.

It will be somewhere around 10-25 horsepower. You can tell by the model number plate. This will be an aluminum plate inside the lower housing USUALLY on the side, near the exhaust cover. This plate will have a model number AND it will give the horespower generated at a specific RPM.

On ebay, sailor model engines of any brand usually command a premium price. They were more expensive than the regular production models and usually, not as many were made. If the engine is running, even though it is old, it is not too far fetched to expect to get 250 for it, and possibly more. Whoever gave it to you really did you a favor.

Scottydawg

Cadet

Thanks for the info. I should be able to get it running with a set of plugs and mabe a good bath for the carb. Any way I can tell what year it is or does that not really matter.

Scottydawg

Cadet