merc problem

db77

Cadet
Hey guys, new to the site...lots of info so far! I have an issue with my 1977 mercury 70hp outboard, it will run/idle great on the muffs, and idle great when in the water, but when i put it in gear it dies almost instantly. I dont know where to begin, it has good fuel, new plugs...and im about to clean the carbs soon...has anyone ever ran into a problem like this before?
Thanks alot in advance!

dbcrue

Recruit
Re: merc problem

my 77 merc 150hp did the same thing it was the distributor was out of sink. it wasnt advancing fast enough.i messed withmine and got it close then it went to the mechanic and he fixed it .he said i was on the right track. So that might be something to look at.Im not a pro just a shade tree guy.Hope it helps

db77

Cadet

will for sure look into it, its a good start for me, i have no idea where to begin as of now...thanks alot!

Showtime22

Petty Officer 2nd Class

My first boat did that. It was a 70 Horse Merc. It drove me so nuts I sold it without fixing it. But knowing what I know now I think I should have checked the neutral safety switch. It kills the engine for a tic to allow the gears to disengage.

Goodluck

moorecomp

Cadet

My first boat did that. It was a 70 Horse Merc. It drove me so nuts I sold it without fixing it. But knowing what I know now I think I should have checked the neutral safety switch. It kills the engine for a tic to allow the gears to disengage.

Goodluck

The neutral safety switch will not kill the motor, it only prevents the energizing of the starter solenoid if the shifter is not in neutral. I has no connection to the ignition circuit. Go for the timing fix.

Craig Moore
Mancelona, MI

jbrown270

Cadet

assuming that the timing is correct and the carbs are clean, you might try setting the idle mixture screws to their base setting. Too lean of a mixture at idle will cause the motor to die instantly when put under a load.

AMD Rules

Lieutenant Commander