Compression test?OOPS!

glink_98

Cadet
I was doing a comp test on my Yamaha 50HP 4 stroke-
Yamaha F50T
1994 or 1995

And---- the gauge?s valve stem got sucked into number one cylinder and then started to blow back out in little pieces!

I bought a new comp gauge and yup-- Cyl one reads way low?

Cyl1: 25 PSI
Cyl2: 175
Cyl3: 180
Cyl4: 175

I have never opened up an engine before. I have the pdf version of Lit18616FT50 which I purchased on the net last week. I have lots of time.

Please--- are there any things ?not in the book? which I can me made aware of?

Thanks a lot! And--- Wish me Luck!

Rick in Anchorage.

sailingwest

Seaman
Re: Compression test?OOPS!

Hi there ,sounds like scored cylinder walls ,I am new to Yamaha engines myself so cant shed any light on strip down . The best thing to do is strip system by system ie fuel system,ignition system etc .Take lots of close up photos of connections links etc .Keep your work area clear and use fridge type plastic boxes for keeping small items in and clean as you go.Best of luck .

Jim B

PS I would advise only stripping the cyl head off as this will let you see what is causing problem ,you might get lucky and find a piece of your tester holding a valve open .good luck

Last edited:

glink_98

Cadet

Jim-- thanks for the reply.

Yes--- I am going by the book-- system by system. All parts are in plastic jars.

Cyl 1 is full of ground up valve stem. I am about to remove the piston today.

Later--- Rick

glink_98

Cadet

I am following the book faithfully, and have the crankcase cover almost off >>>>
crancase%20opening.jpg

but--- I can NOT able to get the bottom 2 crank case bolts out! >>>>
impacted%20bolts.jpg

Plus--- the shifter rod also prevents the crankcase cover from being tilted up and removed >>>>>
shifter%20rod.jpg

Now, the best way, I think is to remove the entire power unit, but am having trouble here too. The book says there are just 4 bolts tying power unit down. Is it wrong? I see no 4 bolts.