Thru. hull fitting problem

FAV453

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I know this is kinda off topic, but you guys probably can help. I am new to board and boating so please forgive the NOOB. Anyway, I have a through hull fitting (plastic below the waterline) that is cracked. It is the water intake for a livewell. I went to replace with new Marlon (sp?) plastic fitting. Problem is I can't reach the old fitting. It is located on the transom below my outboard. From the inside of the boat there is atleast four feet from the closest access point to the fitting, if I reach all the way in I can just touch it (without being able to see what I am doing). I can't even reach to disconnnect the hose, pipe clamped to it. I was thinking I could maybe replace it from the outside, pulling the fitting and the hose through the hole, but how to remove the nut on the back side of the fitting? What I have done in the mean time is chaulk up the walls of the existing fitting to patch the crack? I was thinking I could sleeve the fitting with plastic tubing sealing the tubing all along the ID (this would reduce the dimension, but it is only for a livewell). Any suggestions or should I call in the pros?

12Footer

Fleet Admiral
Re: Thru. hull fitting problem